Skill Set Practice and Weight Lifting Tutorial

This morning I headed over to Planet Fitness to teach my Mom some of the weight lifts I’ve learned at Crossfit and to work on my warm-up/cool-down skill set exercises. Teaching lifts went well! My Mom has some new things to work with and I got to really learn how to break down the movements to teach her.

Then we moved to the back of the gym so I could do 6 sets of:

5 Push ups (on toes – chest to the floor)

5 HSPU (as low as I could go)

5 Double Unders (every 3rd was a DU but I did get 3 in a row at one point)

5 Sit ups

At the Crossfit gym I plan on adding Pull ups and GHD sit ups vs regular sit ups and it’s hard to do kipping pull ups on an assist machine so I skipped those entirely. Not to mention the machine is far from the little nook I wanted to work in so no one would yell at me for doing handstands or accidentally whip someone while doing Double Unders. I felt like 5 in a row was very obtainable for me to do all of the reps properly except push ups. By the 3rd and 6th round (I took a rest after 3 round) I found I had to do at least 2-3 push ups on my knees. I feel as if 5 HSPU is the perfect amount right now for that skill but I could probably do more double unders. Meh – it’s a great starting point 🙂

Later tonight I’ll be doing a Superbowl – Superbody workout I created to keep myself active for tonight’s game. I’ll write more about that tomorrow but here’s an idea of what I’m planning on doing:

Every time the teams Run the ball – 5 squats

Every time the teams Throw a long pass and it’s completed – 10 jumping jacks

Every time there is a Touch Down – 15 sit ups

Every time there is a Field Goal – 15 high knees

Every Interception – 3 burpees

I have a feeling I’ll be doing a ton of squats and I anticipate a few sit ups and high knees. Not sure how many jumping jacks or burpees but these few things should keep me moving and not eating as much. GO RAVENS!!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

