7/15/13 “Linda” [Benchmark WOD]

Of all of the benchmark WODs I’ve done, this is by far the hardest for me. I thought I was going to pass out, vomit, or both and I did what I feel is relatively hardly any weight.

1-2-3 Bars of: “Linda”
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 Reps of:

Deadlift ¾ – (1) – (1½) x bodyweight
Floor Press ¾ – (1) – (1 bench) x bw
Squat Clean ¾ x bw

So the explanation of this WOD was kind of confusing. Essentially you do 10 reps of all 3 moves, then 9, then 8….etc etc. Since I can’t even do the lowest prescribed weight of 3/4ths bodyweight for all 3 moves I did 83# (roughly 50% of my body weight). That was plenty heavy! Surprisingly the floor press wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be, the deadlift was a piece of cake, but squat clean – OMG! The squat cleans made me regret any non healthy food I’d ever consumed in my life. I had to walk to the back door at one point because I thought I was going to throw up. And there were plenty of moments when I didn’t think I’d finish in the 30min time cap.

But somehow I did finish. Once I got to the 4 rep round the light at the end of the tunnel was visible! I finished in 26:03. I didn’t make the cutoff of under 21 min to ‘graduate’ to a heavier load but at least I finished. Next time we do Linda, I’ll use the same weight and hopefully get under the 21 min mark before I ever add any weight.

If you haven’t done Linda, beware! She’s a witch!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

