7/24/13 WOD Deadlift PR and Nutrition Session

That’s right, last night I reached a new PR with my deadlift!

Deadlift

1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1

I worked with our World’s Powerlifter, Susan, in class and it was SO awesome! Susan helped keep my ramping in line and watched my form, too. We worked in a group of 3 and the rotation gave me a good amount of rest between lifts. We got ramped up to my old PR of 280# and it felt hard but better than the last time I lifted that much. We loaded up to 285# and I hit it. We loaded to 290# and I got that! I was feeling AMAZING! I took a longer break and we loaded the bar to 300#. The butterflies were going nuts in my stomach! I kept thinking about calming down and getting my butterflies in formation to work with me vs against me. I approached the bar and I DID IT!!! I LIFTED 300#!!!!!

300# has been a goal of mine since I started dabbling in Power lifting! I remember my first lifting session when I hit 250# and was amazed! Then I hit 280#! And now 300#!!!! I guess my next goal is 350#??? 😉

Nutrition Session

After class I had an hour session with Susan again but this time concerning Nutrition. She had some great tips to help me get to my goals of losing some weight and looking more lean/defined. She said I need to lower the amount of carbs I’m eating (nothing new) but instead of telling me to cut them all out completely (minus fruits/veggies) she suggested small ways to cut down on carbs and foods to swap in/out to make my meals more protein based and less carb based.

Tips to remember:

* Stick with berries and apples for fruit choices.

* Have lean protein with every meal (lean meats and greek yogurt and eggs) and make sure it’s a full serving of protein.

* Swap out things like black beans for lean ground beef.

*Eat things like Paleo Pancakes on occasion and not commonly.

* Stick to Almonds, walnuts, and macadamia nuts for healthy fats in small portions.

At the end of the meeting we did the fat% handheld machine and I was 1% less fat from the last time I used it!! Booya! So it proved to me I am gaining muscle, just perhaps not 10# of muscle 😉 I am back on track with Weight Watchers (and so far I feel AMAZING being back on track!) and making small swaps to lower my carb intake and hopefully will see some pretty awesome results. We agreed I’d send her my food journal every other day so she can tweak any areas that need tweaking along the way and once I’m back from my trip to GA in a week to meet back up and discuss how things are going. 🙂

I feel so amazing right now! YAY!!!!

 

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7/24/13 WOD Deadlift PR and Nutrition Session

  1. amrapandthensome says:

    I am still sooooo proud of your deadlift! That is amazing and I can’t wait to see where you go. Equinox here you come!

Leave a Reply

