7/30/13 2013 Crossfit Games WOD “Legless” (variation)

Last night was brutal. It was a variation on the 2013 Crossfit Games WOD “Legless”:

27 Thrusters

4 legless rope climbs

21 Thrusters

3 legless rope climbs

15 Thrusters

2 legless rope climbs

9 Thrusters

1 legless rope climb

As if this WOD isn’t brutal enough, Diesel made a variation on this for last night’s WOD that made it a hybrid of Fran:

2013 Games: “Legless” (variation)

27 Thruster (95/ 65#) <– Rx
1 Legless Rope Climb <– HAHAHAHA! I did 3 BIG pulls with legs
21 Pull-Ups <– Rx!!!
21 Thruster
1 Legless R.C.
15 Pull-ups
15 Thruster
1 Legless R.C.
9 Pull-ups
9 Thruster
1 Legless R.C.

I attempted legless rope climbs in the warm up and while I got 2-3 pulls I was hardly getting anywhere. I decided to just continue to work on my regular rope climbs instead.

This WOD was ROUGH! Not only was it Fran but it was Fran plus an extra set of Thrusters and 4 rope climbs thrown in the mix. While I knew it was going to be rough I decided to do all of my pull ups unassisted AND I did it!! BOOYA!!! (I’m officially band free these days!)

The first 2 rounds were tough but I managed to chip away at them. The round of 15 was the toughest to get through. My abs were dying and my shoulders were taking a beating as well. Somehow I managed to actually finish under the time cap in 16:47! I am darn proud of that time!

After class I worked on my squat snatch and I have definitely improved! I can tell I am feeling more confident with the movement and I even did a few at 55#!!! I am hoping to do a few more practice sessions before the competition in September at higher weights so 55# feels super light if it comes up in the comp.

All in all it was a great day and I feel really strong! I was dreading the WOD all day and even considered not going or modifying the weight/reps. But I’m SO glad I pushed myself! I love my new mentality with crossfit and all of the progress I’m making! 🙂

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

