Crossfit-aversary Year 1

I almost forgot (How could I?) that it’s my 1 year anniversary of joining Crossfit! YAY! On my first day of Crossfit I did this WOD:

3 rounds for time of:

45 pound Sots press, 15 reps
Handstand walk 15 meters
20 second L-sit hold
Handstand walk 15 meters

And had these comments:

Notes: Ok let’s just put it out there – I cannot do a handstand, let alone handstand walk 15meters 6 times. And as much as I’d like to think I have decent flexibility and ab strength, that L-Sit was not happening in perfect form, either.

So instead here’s what I ended up doing:

Round 1 – 15 Sots Press @ 20lbs, Handstand wall walk 15m, 20 second scrunched into a ball hang for 20 sec (10 sec increments), and then 15 pushups.

Round 2 – 15 Sots Press but this time I was noticeably struggling and had to take breaks, 15 pushups on knees, scrunched ball for 5 second increments for 20 seconds, and 15 more knee pushups.

Round 3 – same as round 2

Time: 13min 33sec

The best part: I felt it immediately! My wrists and shoulders took a lot of the brunt that workout and within minutes of completing it I could feel my muscles aching. At one point I remember looking around for a trashcan or something to potentially run to in case I got sick. I got WHIPPED by this workout even in 13min! 

I wrote down my stats, too, which I didn’t even remember putting up:

So here are my starting statistics:

Weight: 158.8

Height: 5’6″

Age: 29

Here are my stats today:

Weight: 165

Aside from aging 1 year, that’s all that’s changed. I’ve gained about 6#. I can’t say I’m happy about it – nor can I say it has anything to do with Crossfit. I know I’ve gained a ton of muscle but I also know that my eating habits are far from consistent.

Anyway! back to comparing then to now! I went from not even being able to do overhead squats to climbing the whole 15′ rope. I went from 70# as being really heavy to 135# cleans and 300# deadlifts. From struggling with banded pull ups to unassisted kipping pull ups. I’ve made huge progression and I feel great and actually love working out! I remember when I would have to force myself to workout and I’d dread it – yet now it’s the highlight of my day and my trips whenever I go out of town! I’ve made a ton of friends through Crossfit and I feel part of a whole community and family.

I admit I haven’t taken the nutrition side as seriously as I’d like but I have made a few Crossfit Resolutions for next year. I took some photos of myself last week. The kind that I don’t feel comfortable even posting right now in hopes that in another year I can get my nutrition dialed in and post some pretty awesome before/after photos. I also believe a muscle up is achievable next year.

Here’s to another year with Crossfit and blogging all about it! 😀

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

