10/28/13 WOD and Powerlifting Practice

It’s the week before the Capital Throwdown Competition!!! I can’t believe it’s finally here! So in order to not rip my hand or injure myself like I did last time I attempted to taper, I am actually following my rules of going easy and taking extra precautions for this week’s worth of WODs (say that 5 times fast: weeks worth of wods, weeks worth of wods…). Last night we had this programmed:

4 Rounds For Time:

9 Snatch (115 / 75#) <– 55#

9 Lateral Jump Burpee

5 Snatch (165 / 105#) <– 65#

5 Bar Facing Burpee

I wanted to take the weight light so I could focus on my burpee speed. And well, I accomplished it. I could touch-and-go all of my reps every round… whoops… and I finished first in 12:21… (time cap was 22:22) whoops… I’m not sure if I did the burpees any faster than normal but I did push myself on going quickly. I also realized maybe it was too light when I could muscle the snatches. Oh well – it was Active Recovery for sure. It felt easy but I got to move around. Which, in my opinion, is the point of Active Recovery. I also made sure to tape my hands so I didn’t rip on the barbell (something about snatch grip gets my thumbs) and had a good WOD.

After class we did Tabata L-Sit and superman. I did a tuck hang instead of an L Sit since I have a droopy L sit and it was just as hard! My Superman is awesome, though, so I had a good time with that 🙂

Then it was time to meet up with Sammi to work on our bench press some more. We decided not to go too high with weight but rather get in  a lot of reps. We decided to hit 85# and just do sets of 4 until we felt we were done. Honestly, I have no idea how many sets we did – but I am guessing about 4 sets or so??? We are going to be so ready for the Power Lifting Meet Nov 23rd!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

