December to Remember

Like most people I seem to let the excitement, stress, cookies, parties, and lack of work/regular routine get to me during December and I gain weight. I start off strong and then gradually lose strength as the parties pile up, the weather gets colder, and the stress of money and buying the perfect gifts for people wears me down. By the end of the month I’m usually so stressed out that all I want to do is binge on frosted cookies and candy while washing it all down with a bottle of wine. Hence, weight gain. I become such a Grinch at WeightWatchers, too, sending death glares to people who are actually losing weight during this month of craziness and the next thing I know I’m throwing in the towel on the rest of the month and wait for January to get back on any sort of track. I still workout – I love to workout! – but the whole eating moderately, measuring portions, tracking food, or actually trying to stay on track seems to go out the window by Christmas week.

This year I had a stroke of genius. Not only did I make a sweeping declaration of not gaining weight this year but I somehow convinced a few family members to join me in my crusade and to actually LOSE weight this month!  It was actually comforting to know others in my family struggle during December, too, and it is even more comforting to know I now have a whole team of support to achieve our weight loss goals. So what did I suggest, you might be wondering?

Between this week and Christmas Eve (December 24th) we will each lose 5 pounds. If we each lose 5 pounds or a total of 20 pounds by Christmas Eve our husbands will buy us manicures.

Our husbands also get to participate by playing Judge and in my case, Food Police. They will witness our weigh ins to keep us “honest” since they will be the ones forking over the dough in the end and I really like getting my husband involved so he can support me through the month. I know he always wants to help me with my weight loss goals but I never really know what to tell him to do and I tend to get defensive bite his head off when he says “Should you be eating that?” as I am 2 seconds away from enjoying a little icecream. But in this case, I welcome it! Losing 5# in 3 weeks is going to be hard for me. It might even boarder on the unhealthy line a little BUT it is do-able and I really don’t want to let my team down! Nor do I want to pass up a ‘free’ manicure (we share a bank account…what’s yours is mine. but watching him pay is always more fun than me breaking out my wallet – especially with freshly painted nails!). I also like that I’ve turned what normally is a Me vs. The World battle to a big support network to surround myself with vs. The Rest of the World.

For the first time in many years, I feel like I won’t be walking into doom’s day when my week off for Christmas rolls around. Instead I feel like I’ll have comradery and support and maybe even more help to stay on track (maybe less cookies offered??). I know that in order to lose weight, it’s up to me, and only me, to get the job done but there is something to be said when you’re surrounded by encouragement, support, and more fruit than cookies and surrounded by people eating unhealthy food while you repeat in your head “I love my oatmeal more than Frosted Flakes! I love carrots more than chips! I love water more than soda!” for an entire week. Not to mention the stress of being out of my normal routine or even in my house weakens me.

So in summary – I am going to fight this Holiday Season and WIN! 2013 is going to be the year I stomp out Christmas Weight Gain and kick the guilt of over indulging to the curb because I won’t over indulge. I’ll keep everyone posted with weekly updates and of course final results on Christmas Eve. Feel free to join in on the challenge, too!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to December to Remember

  1. Pingback: Make the Husbands Pay! [Starting Week] | Crossfit Games or BUST!

Leave a Reply

