3/10/14 Powerlifting Practice and “The Chief”

I am pretty darn sore from Sunday’s Endurance WOD but I was very excited to do a group Powerlifting Session with some of the ladies who are competing in April’s Equinox Competition. We broke into 2 groups and did the same rep scheme for back squat for bench press:

7 (4-4) 2 (2-2) 4 (1-1)

I started with the bar and worked my way in 10# increments to 135#. I did 2 singles at 135, failed on my 3rd, and then finished at 125#. Each set of presses started with a paused first rep (simulating competition style) and followed by explosive quick reps.

Once that was done we did a quick deadlift session where we ramped to 70% of our 1 rep max and then did as many reps as possible in 20 seconds. I got to 220# and managed to get 8 reps in 20 seconds. Each rep was dropped, too, per our instructions for the day. I was kind of surprised since in competition you can’t drop the bar but maybe we’ll work on that later.

After that I joined the Rookie class for what I thought would be a nice 10min AMRAP but turned into being the prescribed WOD of “The Chief” !! The first time I did this I got 20+ 14 while using 72# and not great form. The second time I did the WOD it was modified rounds but better form and I could do the prescribed weight.

“The Chief”
Complete as many Rounds as possible in 3 minutes of:

3 Power Cleans (135/95#) <– Rx
6 Push-Ups <– first round strict, 4 remaining worms
9 Squats <– rx

Rest for 1 minute and repeat, for a total of 5 intervals

This time I managed to bust out:

4 + 3

4 + 3

4 + 1

4 + 1

4

Total score of 20 + 8. Not too bad while sore and after Powerlifting 🙂 I’d say it’s a PR! And I was SO proud of my strict push ups for that first 3min set! GO ME!!! 😉

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

