3/17/14 14.3 and other stuff

I’m BAAACCCKKKK!!!!! I’m no longer sick and I was SO excited to do 14.3!!!! When they announced it on Thursday I felt like Dave Castro found my blog and thought “ok, let’s give Sara a WOD she’ll enjoy” It was torture being sick and seeing everyone do the WOD on Saturday and all the videos about it. But I knew in order to crush this WOD I needed to be patient and let all of the germs die before even thinking about working out.

Then it snowed. *sigh*

It’s March and it snowed.

So much in fact that it shut the gov’t down and the gym closes when that happens. I started to go into panic mode until I checked my email and my coach said he’d open the gym for a few of us who hadn’t done 14.3 yet despite the gym formally being closed! Thankfully it was only 4-6″ and the roads were fine in a matter of hours so I didn’t have to panic about driving there. I spent all day rewatching the live announcement of the WOD, tips on the WOD, and other people’s experiences. By the time 5pm rolled around I was SO EXCITED I could hardly handle the butterflies. 5 days off from working out + an exciting WOD = Sara on crack. I got my bar all picked out (the knurliest in the gym!), got all of my plates lined up in the order I would use them, got my box situated properly, and had my weight belt ON! Earlier in the day I managed to KT tape my lower back, too, just in case. I made sure my judge knew my plate changes, too, in case I got delirious in the workout and we even wrote down the plate change scheme – just in case.

WOD 14.3

Complete as many reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
95-lb. deadlifts, 10 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
135-lb. deadlifts, 15 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
155-lb. deadlifts, 20 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
185-lb. deadlifts, 25 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
205-lb. deadlifts, 30 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch
225-lb. deadlifts, 35 reps
15 box jumps, 20-inch

The clock started and I did the first set of 95# deadlifts unbroken, I went all Jane Fonda on the box with my step ups, and then did the plate change as fast as I could. I didn’t use a clip on the bar until I started adding metal plates and knew I wasn’t going to be doing them unbroken (side note: metal plates made the weight changes WAY easier!!! They don’t touch the ground when coupled with a rubber plate so you don’t struggle pulling them on and off) so I could easily drop the bar and not worry about anything flying off. I did the next set of deadlifts unbroken, too. Then I hit the round of 155#. I had to break it up and it was starting to feel a little heavier than I anticipated. And then it was like I put on the brakes. 185# isn’t normally a huge challenge but man did that feel like lead!  I made it through and powered through the step ups as fast as I could. I could already feel my back starting to get pumped out/swollen but I had 30 seconds once I got to 205# to get as many reps as I could. I went to pick up the bar and OMG it felt like it weighed 280#! I kid you not! My mind said “HURRY! DO A FEW TOUCH AND GOS!” and my body/back said “nope. Sorry, not happening.” So I just did as many ugly singles as I could and managed to get 4 before the 8min was up. I’m SO proud of my efforts! I totally met my personal goal and got a score of 134! 😀

After I stopped dying I put my stuff away and did some bench press work. We did the same rep scheme as the back squat rep scheme before calling it a night.

I’m going to be pretty sore for a few days. Going all out after 5 days off probably wasn’t the smartest idea…but oh well. Tonight I’ll definitely give my back some much needed TLC and take it easy with the WOD. 14.3 – CHECK! What ‘cha got next, Dave??

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

