5/12/14 Powerlifting Practice

It’s Taper Week!!! Which means I won’t have too much to post here as I get ready for the Hopper Clash competition on Saturday! I can’t believe the competition is here already! And I am already getting nervous about the head to head battles:

hopper clash

It’s hard to see but I’m in the 2nd bracket in the second heat. The head to head aspect is pretty intimidating right now. I’m just hoping it’s fun and I enjoy the day.

Anyway – I’m trying to keep my nerves to a minimum and focus on this busy week. Last night we did back squat work. When we do powerlifting practice I try not to pay too close attention to what’s on the barbell. I find that mentally I do better when I just give full effort on every lift vs getting nervous for heavier weight. The best part was that I ended around 235#/107Kg! This is awesome because when I was getting ready for the Equinox I would end with 1 rep around 105-110Kg and last night I did 107Kg twice! Our current training plan is to squat to 107Kg for 4 singles until it feels easy and then we should hit another PR at the next meet in November.

That’s all we had time for last night. Wednesday we will bench! 🙂 And Wednesday will be my last real workout day this week. Tonight I get to coach the 7pm class SOLO! EEEE! 😀

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit, Powerlifting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

