5/17/14 Hopper Clash Women’s Scaled Competition Recap

This weekend I competed at the Hopper Clash at Crossfit Laurel. I entered into the scaled division because I wanted to crush it! The competition was a different format than normal, though. First it was a head to head battle each round. You literally only had to beat the person you were facing off against by 1 rep – which was really frustrating to lose by – in order to advance to the next round. It was double elimination, too, so you had 2 opportunities to lose before you were eliminated from the competition. Secondly, the WODs and the order in which the WODs were executed were decided by the Hopper.

The 10 WODs were released about 3 or 4 weeks prior to the competition.

HOPPER CLASH 2014 WORKOUTS AND STANDARDS

THRUSTERS
RX’D(95/65) SC’D(65/45)
MAX REPS
5 MINS


10 BURPEE BOX JUMPS
RX’D(24/20) SC’D(20 BOX STEPS-OPTIONAL)
10 WALL BALLS
RX’D(20/14) SC’D(14/10)
6 MIN AMRAP


20 KB SWINGS
RX’D(1.5P/1P) SC’D(1P/30lb.)
20 AIR SQUATS
6 MIN AMRAP


10 PULL UPS
RX’D(STANDARD)SC’D(JUMPING)
15 AIR SQUATS
7 MIN AMRAP

CLEAN AND JERK
RX’D(135/95) SC’D(95/65)
MAX REPS
6 MINS


15 DEADLIFTS
RX’D(155/115) SC’D(135/95)
15 HAND RELEASE 
PUSH UPS
6 MIN AMRAP


10 SHOULDER TO OVERHEAD
RX’D(95/65) SC’D(65/45)
40 ALT LUNGE STEPS
7 MIN AMRAP


FINAL WORKOUT
TO BE DETERMINED
20 DOUBLE UNDER
SC’D-40 SINGLES
5 POWER SNATCH
RX’D(135/95) SC’D(75/45)
6 MIN AMRAP


7 OVERHEAD SQUATS
RX’D(95/65SC’D(65/45)
14 BURPEES
6 MIN AMRAP


12 FRONT SQUATS
RX’D(95/65) SC’D(65/45)
12 BURPEE OVER BAR
6 MIN AMRAP


I made sure to go through as many of these as possible before the competition to get a good strategy on what equipment I needed and what sort of pace/rep scheme I’d need.

The first WOD I got was 10 jumping pull ups and 15 squats. This was rough!! The girl I went up against could squat fast! I managed to edge her out and advance to the next round. My legs were jello after that but I had over an hour to rest. WIN!

The second WOD I got was 7 OHS 14 burpees. Darn those burpees! The girl I went against was good at flying through her burpees but struggled at the end with her OHS! I caught up in the last min of this WOD but she edged me out by 1 rep! LOSS!

With only 20min to rest I had to jump into WOD 3 20 Kettle bell swings 20 squats. THANKFULLY my competitor was more tired than I was for this head to head and I didn’t have to go full throttle! WIN!

Again, only a 20min rest before WOD 4 12 front squats 12 bar facing burpees. Again, I got to rest a little as my competitor struggled in the first round of front squats while I went unbroken every round. WIN!

20 min later I got to do WOD 5 10 Shoulder to overhead 40 alternating lunges. By this time my legs were really dead. I had squats in every WOD with little rest between them and this time my competitor was FIERCE! She kicked my butt during the lunges and I just couldn’t do any more squat motions! I was eliminated after this WOD. LOSS!

I’m not sure exactly what place I ended up in. There were 19 girls and I think at the lowest I was 10th place and highest I think 5th or 6th. They didn’t really write out the places other than top 3. But I am very proud of my efforts and my endurance through the pain of probably 500 squats in an hour. My legs hurt Saturday, def sore Sunday, and are still pretty darn sore today. It will probably take me another 2 days to fully recover 😦 Nothing else is sore, so I guess that’s a silver lining?

If you’re interested in watching any of my throw downs I compiled a video of my day HERE. It’s lengthy but you can fast forward through once you get a general idea of the WOD. All in all it was fun and I definitely got my money’s worth! Next on the agenda: Push/Pull powerlifting meet where I don’t have to squat AT ALL!

Me, Cahba, and Heather

Me, Cahba, and Heather

 

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

