5/26/14 Memorial Day “Murph” [HERO WOD]

In honor of Memorial Day, Crossfitters around the world partake in the Hero WOD “Murph” for Lt. Murphy and for all of the people who have served/fallen for our country.

This is the first time I’ve participated in this WOD since last year I was driving home from GA on Memorial Day. Since my hip was still bothering me a bit I decided to swap out the squats with sit ups.

“Murph”

1 mile run <– Rx

100 Pull ups <– Rx

200 Push ups <– Some strict, most floppy

300 Squats <– Sit ups

1 mile run

I segmented the pull ups, push ups, and sit ups into sets of:

5 Pull ups

5 push ups

15 sit ups

5 push ups

I did 20 rounds of that. 20.  It was the WOD that never ended. I started to rip on round 15-16 but didn’t want to stop so close to the end. I just kept adding tape/grips and suffered through it. I finished the WOD in 61:23. A little over 1 hour which I don’t think is all that bad mostly Rx (minus the weighted vest).

Afterwards we had a potluck and enjoyed some fun times with friends. We actually had a guest gym (Crossfit Critical Mass) come Murph with us so it was cool having such a large group and meet a few new people. It was good to get back in the gym after a few days off. I need to give my hands a bit of TLC, though, and I can definitely feel those 300 sit ups this morning!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

