6/16/14 & 6/17/14 WODs and Back Squat PR

I can’t believe I forgot to blog yesterday!!! And with such amazing news! I got a new PR for my back squat!!! But first the WOD:

AMRAP-10

15 Hollow-Body Floor Press (95/65) <– Legs and head up Rx weight
12 Power Snatch (95/65) <– Rx
9 Pull-Up <– Rx

This was a confusing WOD for me primarily because the floor press was the total opposite of what I do in Powerlifting. In powerlifting I have my back arched as much as possible with my feet on the floor, butt on the bench, and shoulders and head on the bench, too. This WOD had my back on the floor and my head and feet up to create a hollow body. I started to feel it in my biceps by the end which I thought was weird. The snatches were primarily exhausting and the pull ups were a little frustrating since I didn’t feel I had enough energy to string more than 2-3 together in any given round. I’m starting to think the summer humidity is affecting me a little bit.

After the WOD we did back squat in powerlifting practice. I have to get back into squatting for my next and final meets of the year and I’d like to put up a good number. I attempted 115Kg but failed on my first try so I asked to rest and try again despite feeling pretty wiped. Knowing it was going to be a 3Kg PR I made sure I HIT the lift! I couldn’t really seem to get my knees out on the way up and man that bar was HEAVY but I DID IT!!!! NEW PR OF 115KG!!! (253.5Lbs)

BOOYA!

Moving on to yesterday’s WOD:

5 Rounds For Time

400m Run <– Rx
3 Power Clean <– 125#
5 Front Squat Post <– 125#

I wasn’t sure how well I’d do with this WOD, actually. It was HOT outside and so I knew the running and sun would suck out a lot of energy. And while the cleans would be fine, the front squats would be work since I was sore from squatting on Monday. I decided to jog the 400m instead of pushing myself with running which made the transition to the barbell easier! I did all of my front squats unbroken and finished the WOD in 17:14. Part of me wanted to do 135# but I didn’t… oh well. Next time – when my legs aren’t dead.

OTHER NEWS

I have some updates for everyone.

1. Here are the results from the Push/Pull Meet last Saturday if you care.

2. I met a really cool girl, Kate, at the meet who has been dominating my weight class lately and we both have decided to do a training session or 2 together in the fall. So get ready for that! I hope to get photos and videos and tons of cool tips. I would love for her to come to Diesel to train and then I’d love to go to her gym and train with her coach  (Matt Gary) who is big in the Powerlifting community.

3. The Maryland State Powerlifting Meet held at my gym (crossfit diesel) might coincide with a wedding in November. I was initially really bummed out about it. It was going to be my last meet before Nick and I started seriously talking about starting a family and I wanted to go out with a bang until I recover from potentially having a baby. Well, thankfully, I talked to Kate and she is doing a meet in DC 2 weeks after the proposed States weekend and I realized I could do that meet, too! So in case the meet at my gym does conflict with the wedding I have another meet I can go to! Crisis averted!

4. Lastly I am going to attempt to go down a weight class. I’m currently about 160lbs and in the 75Kg weight class. 1 weight class down would be 148lbs. I know what you’re thinking, ‘But Sara, you can hardly get under 160 for longer than a day!’ and I know but part of it has been lack of motivation. Having this be a goal with an end in sight and a temporary loss not a long term goal weight feels more manageable to me. So I’m going to try to do it. If I can’t get there, oh well. Worst case scenario I lose a few pounds and stay in my current weight class. Best case scenario I kick some ass in the 148# class. 😉 And then I can regain some of the weight I lost to make life more manageable and sustainable. A few people don’t think I have the weight to lose but we’ll see. I got a fitbit and track my food in MyFitnessPal and so far things are going well. I’m eating roughly 1400 cal/day and burning 2400 cal/day so I should lose some weight. I’m sticking to a lower carb diet, too. I’ll keep you guys posted on how many days in a row I can keep it up. If I can manage to be in a 1000 cal deficit a day for 4-5 days a week I should slowly lose the weight.

I think I covered everything! 🙂 Have a great Wednesday!

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit, Powerlifting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

