7/14/14 Powerlifting and 2014 Regional WOD 4

It feels like forever since I was in the gym! And after having a terrible weekend full of crappy occurrences and lots of food/booze I was ready for a butt kicking in the gym.

Powerlifting

We started off with bench press and once we got to a heavy 6 rep set (57Kg) we would do 6 reps and then do the same amount of hanging power cleans at the same weight. We did this couplet twice before moving on to back squat. It was actually very hard to hanging power clean 57Kg 6 times! I think that’s the heaviest hanging clean weight I’ve ever done! 

We didn’t seem to do much with back squat since the WOD had a bunch of front squats involved.  I ended on a fast set of 4 at 80Kg. 

WOD

2014 Regional WOD 4
21-15-9-6-3 <– I did 11-8-5-3-2 of HSPU & Front squat
Strict Handstand Push-Up <– 2 ab mats
Front Squat (195/ 125#) <– 115#
Bar Facing Burpees <– Rx

I sweat SO MUCH during this WOD! And by the last set of burpees I was starting to feel light headed so I was happy with my modifications! I finished in 14:17. The last time I did this WOD I struggled BIG time with it. I couldn’t handle the volume or skills and didn’t modify appropriately. I feel like this time I finally found an appropriate MOD and I know I can continue to improve on Rxing this WOD in the future.

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Crossfit, Powerlifting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

