11/17/14 WOD and Powerlifting

What a tough night! OMG! I am pretty sure my coach is trying to kill me and tonight was just 1 example of it! I decided to do the regular WOD before Powerlifting and it wasn’t any easier/better!

Front Squat
4×4 – ¼ Speed (3 counts down, hold 1 count, and up ~1 count) <–60Kg

15 min AMRAP

10 Push Press (95/65)
10 OHS (95/65)
10 Burpees

In the middle of the WOD my wrists started to REALLY ache so I ended up spending way too much time fiddling with my wrist wraps. I did manage to finish with 2 reps shy of 5 rounds, 4 +28. SO CLOSE to 5 rounds! And I was NOT moving quickly at all! OHS and burpees are my SLOW gear.

Powerlifting

After the WOD I really had 0 desire to back squat or lift heavy but I pushed myself. It was one of our tougher classes, too:

Back Squat:

Ramp to 70% (2×6), 75% (2×4), 80% (2×4)

I got to 90Kg and it was HARD! I realized afterwards when I get to 90Kg usually I’m only doing 2 reps not 4 so it was good that I was able to push out 4 reps but definitely not what I would consider easy!

Bench Press:

Ramp to 70% (2×9), 75% (2×6), 80% (2×3)

Definitely couldn’t hang for this. I couldn’t even complete the sets of 9 but I did go to failure with each set ending at 55Kg for 1 rep on my last set.

Deadlift:

15-12-9-6-3

Do sets unbroken and increase load with each set.

This was challenging! We started at 60Kg and finished at 120Kg and I had to get my Powerlifting belt out for the last 3 reps! Without it, I couldn’t pick the bar up!

Needless to say I am sore today. I even dreamed about back squatting last night! ACK! But it was nice to have actually completed the full Powerlifting WOD since I’ve been lackluster about it since the Powerlifting meet.

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Coaching Crossfit, Crossfit, Powerlifting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

