3/4/16 16.2 and 3/5/16 Team WOD

16.2 came with a roller coaster of emotions. First the belief that I could make it easily through 3 rounds. Then the harsh reality that getting into round 2 might be impossible. And lastly that a 30# jump in the squat clean after taxing your midline and then jumping 50 times was larger than it seemed.

I heard all day long about people who I thought were close to my athletic level struggle to get through the first round and then really struggle with the 115# cleans. I dropped my expectations down from getting to the 3rd round to just getting into round 2!

Beginning on a 4-minute clock, complete as many reps as possible of:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
15 squat cleans, 135 / 85 lb.

If completed before 4 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
13 squat cleans, 185 / 115 lb.

If completed before 8 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
11 squat cleans, 225 / 145 lb.

If completed before 12 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
9 squat cleans, 275 / 175 lb.

If completed before 16 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
7 squat cleans, 315 / 205 lb.

Stop at 20 minutes.

So I made a plan of attack. I KNOW for fact that my single TTBs are faster than me trying to string them together. So from the moment the clock started I did singles. I knew I wouldn’t struggle too much on the DUs except I didn’t anticipate needing to pee… Rookie mistake… oh well I got through them. The cleans in the first round weren’t too terrible and I made it through Round 1 with 30s to spare! It wasn’t a lot of time, but it was enough to get me through 25 more single TTBs while struggling to breathe, 50 DUs broken up just so I could breathe, and 1 squat clean at 115#. My first attempt at 115# I missed. I picked up the bar and I was like “OMG! THIS IS HEAVY!” – had to rest and then I got 1 rep before time was up.

Total score 166. I’m really happy with that score! And after watching more people struggle to get through Round 1 and then not even get to the cleans in Round 2, it made me feel REALLY happy about my score 😛 Yes, many ppl beat me but that’s expected. If I had better TTBs I probably could’ve gotten farther. But for my abilities right now – I did really well 🙂

The next day I did a team WOD:

Team Chipper In Teams of 5: <– We only had a team of 3

For Time:

Row 20 Calories

20 Burpees

20 Hang cleans (95/65)

20 KB Swings (70/55#)

20 SDHP w/ Kettlebell (70/55#)

Run 800m

*You cannot move onto the next movement until your Team Member in front of you completes the movement in order EXCEPT FOR THE LAST RUN.

I was last in our little waterfall and I finished at 14:09. It was actually pretty fun and light 🙂

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

