Germany 2016 Plan

WE’RE GOING TO GERMANY!!!!! Again. 🙂 I’m SO excited! My husband’s job is sending him back for more training in Germany and we’re going to use the training as an excuse for another European trip.

Last time we went to Germany we had a GREAT time but I noted a few things I’d like to change.

  1. Drink More Water. I didn’t drink much water in Germany because I hated looking for bathrooms and then paying for them. In America, public free restrooms are just SO much easier to find. Plus – I felt beer was cheaper than ordering water (it was not free like in the US) and so I ended up drinking more beer than water. I’d like to keep beer to dinner only this trip.
  2. Eating More Veggies/Fruit. I managed to find meat and bread very easily in Germany but I struggled with veggies. I think I ordered a salad once in 10 days. And I may have had some fruit from breakfast. But it was not nearly as much as I should have had. I also want to include looking for more Power Foods since tracking will be pretty tough to do.
  3. Keeping Breakfast and Lunch Light. I used being on vacation as an excuse to treat every single meal as my last or as a special meal. This led to me over eating (portions are big there too) and eating when I wasn’t hungry and gaining weight. If I can keep breakfast small (hotel breakfasts can be easy to do as long as you don’t treat it as a buffet) and lunches lighter like salads I think I’ll feel better and actually hungry when it’s dinner time.
  4. More Exercise. Yes, we walked a lot in Germany. Yes, we were active. But there is something to be said for doing concentrated exercise – and I didn’t do any last time. I was pretty tired from walking and jet lag last time so I didn’t feel like I could wake up early to find the gym – but I think if I’m better hydrated and eating better I might feel better to at least look for the fitness room.
  5. Packing Snacks. On days when finding nutritious meals or snack was just not happening there was nothing I could do about it last time. I felt a little helpless. This time I’m going to pack WW Smoothies for added protein and I’m looking into some other nutrition packets I could use as a breakfast replacement or healthy snack. I will also be better at taking more fruit from the hotel breakfasts when I can or buying some from a local grocery store instead of granola bars.
  6. Tracking More. I would like to at least write down what I ate and not necessarily track points just to keep tabs on how much I’m eating. Sometimes when I’m distracted I forget how easily food can add up or when I last ate/how much. So I have my 12 week tracker and my phone that I’d like to use to keep better tabs of what I’m putting in my body on a daily basis.

Obviously these items above will be adapted to what we end up actually doing while we are in Germany. For example, if we end up skiing a few days, I will not feel guilty not hitting the gym. Just small things like that. But for now this is my Plan of Attack to stay healthy and not leave Germany feeling like I’ve gained 100#. 🙂 I want to enjoy the trip from start to finish and come home refreshed and not feeling bad or guilty.

About zimzimmie1

I am using this blog to share my tips, struggles, goals, and successes to lose weight, get fit, and feel great!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment